top of page

Principal Investigator

Hamed-Kaveh-1024x683.jpg

Kaveh Akbari Hamed, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Virginia Tech

Email: kavehakbarihamed@vt.edu

Menu
Principal Investigator
my pic.jpg

Abhishek Pandala

Ph.D. Candidate

Mechanical Engineering 

Thesis: Robust Predictive Control for Legged Locomotion

Email: agp19@vt.edu 

Leila.jpeg

Leila Amanzadeh

Ph.D. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Co-advisor: Dr. Alex Leonessa

Email: leila7@vt.edu  

20220326_2321112 - Copy.jpg

Ali MirMohammad Sadeghi

Ph.D. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: alimmsadeghi@vt.edu 

50725985_2319513258283689_43336806914824

Basit Muhammad Imran

Ph.D. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Co-advisor: Dr. Alex Leonessa

Thesis: Distributed Control of Multiagnet Legged Systems

Email: basit@vt.edu  

pic_taizoon.jpg

Taizoon Chunawala

Ph.D. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Co-advisor: Dr. Alex Leonessa

Email: taizoonac@vt.edu 

Current Graduate Students

Current Graduate Students

Graduate Students Alumni

Graduate Students Alumni as Primary Advisor

Randy_Fawcett_Headshot.jpg

Randall T. Fawcett

Ph.D. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Dissertation: Hierarchical Control of Constrained Multi-Agent Legged Locomotion: A Data-Driven Approach

Ph.D. Defense Date: May 2023

Email: randallf@vt.edu 

website

IMG_1909.jpg

Vinay R. Kamidi

Ph.D. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Dissertation: Distributed Feedback Control Algorithms for Cooperative Locomotion: From Bipedal to Quadrupedal Robots

Ph.D. Defense Date: March 2022

Email: vinay28@vt.edu

Now Sr. Software and Controls Engineer at Apptronik (website)

Professional_Photo.PNG

Joseph Martin

M.S. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Thesis: Design of Time-Varying Hybrid Zero Dynamics Controllers for
Exponential Stabilization of Agile Quadrupedal Locomotion

M.S. Defense date: October 2020

Email: josephbmartinv@vt.edu

Now Robotics Controls Engineer at Arrival (website)

JKIM.jpg

Jeeseop Kim

Ph.D. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Dissertation: Cooperative Locomotion of Quadrupedal Robots: From Supervisory Predictive Control to Distributed Control

Ph.D. Defense Date: August 2022

Email: jeeseop@vt.edu

Now Postdoctoral Researcher at Caltech (website)

Randy_Fawcett_Headshot.jpg

Randall T. Fawcett

M.S. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Thesis: Real-Time Planning and Nonlinear Control for Robust Quadrupedal Locomotion with Tails

M.S. Defense date: July 2021

Email: randallf@vt.edu 

photo_website.jpg

Loek J. Trimbach

International Visitor (M.S. Student), 01/2019-03/2019

Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e)

Email: l.j.trimbach@student.tue.nl

Visitors

Visitors
Undergraduate Students
Ruichang_Chen.png

Ruichang Chen

Undergraduate Student

Computer Engineering

Email: chenrc@vt.edu

Jerry_Liang.JPG

Jerry Lian

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: jliang97@vt.edu

Ritish_Shailly.jpg

Ritish Shailly

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: rshailly@vt.edu

Michael_Otooni_edited.jpg

Michael Otooni

Undergraduate Student

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Email: micco17@vt.edu

image (1).png

Shengyuan Niu

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: jc26@vt.edu

image1.jpeg

Zihang Zhao

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: zzihang1@vt.edu

IMG_20200211_183554_edited.jpg

Yipin Zhou

Undergraduate Student

Industrial Engineering

Email: yipin15@vt.edu

Fujun_Ruan.jpg

Fujun Ruan

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: jimruan@vt.edu

Tung_Xuan_Le.JPG

Tung Xuan Le

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: tung2250@vt.edu

Anshool_Pradhan.jpeg

Anshool Pradhan

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: anshool@vt.edu

Profile Pic (2).JPG

Sean Eagen

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: esean4@vt.edu

photo_Jiajun Zhang.jpg

Jiajun Zhang

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: jiajunz6@vt.edu

Former Undergraduate Students

K12 Researchers
IMG_20190716_164733_edited.jpg

Neema Ahmadian

K12 Researcher

Former K-12 Researchers

Available Positions

Prospective Students

Available PhD Positions

We always look for motivated, talented graduate students from all over the world who wish to undertake Ph.D. research at the cutting edge of control theory, robotics, and machine learning. The desired candidates hold an MS or BS degree in Engineering (preferably ECE, ME, AE), (Applied) Mathematics, Computer science, or related fields. The candidates for these positions should have a strong background in mathematics, programming, and hardware, together with hands-on experience. In particular, we are interested in the following skills:

 

  1. Strong mathematical knowledge of control theory and robotics;

  2. Strong programming skills: C/C++, MATLAB/Simulink, Python, ROS, and Microcontrollers; and

  3. Implementing feedback control in hardware.

 

If interested, please e-mail Dr. Akbari Hamed with a 1) cover letter and 2) resume/CV as PDF attachments. 

Available Positions

bottom of page