Principal Investigator

Kaveh Akbari Hamed, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Virginia Tech

Email: kavehakbarihamed@vt.edu

 
 
IMG_1909.jpg

Vinay R. Kamidi

Ph.D. Candidate

Mechanical Engineering

Thesis: Decentralized control of agile quadrupedal and bipedal locomotion (Vision 60)

Email: vinay28@vt.edu

JKIM.jpg

Jeeseop Kim

Ph.D. Candidate

Mechanical Engineering

Thesis: Intelligent Planning and control of quadrupedal locomotion (Vision 60)

Email: jeeseop@vt.edu 

Leila.jpeg

Leila Amanzadeh

Ph.D. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Co-advisor: Dr. Alex Leonessa

Email: leila7@vt.edu  

my pic.jpg

Abhishek Pandala

Ph.D. Candidate

Mechanical Engineering 

Thesis: Decentralized control of cooperative legged locomotion (Vision 60)

Email: agp19@vt.edu 

50725985_2319513258283689_43336806914824

Basit Muhammad Imran

Ph.D. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Co-advisor: Dr. Alex Leonessa

Thesis: Distributed Control of Multiagnet Legged Systems

Email: basit@vt.edu  

Randy_Fawcett_Headshot.jpg

Randy Fawcett

M.S. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Thesis: Agile quadrupedal locomotion with bioinspired robotic tails

Email: randallf@vt.edu 

 

Current Graduate Students

Professional_Photo.PNG

Joseph Martin

M.S. Student

Mechanical Engineering

Thesis: Design of Time-Varying Hybrid Zero Dynamics Controllers for
Exponential Stabilization of Agile Quadrupedal Locomotion

Defense date: October 2020

Email: josephbmartinv@vt.edu

 

Graduate Students Alumni

photo_website.jpg

Loek J. Trimbach

International Visitor (M.S. Student), 01/2018-03/2018

Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e)

Email: l.j.trimbach@student.tue.nl

Visitors

 
 
Ruichang_Chen.png

Ruichang Chen

Undergraduate Student

Computer Engineering

Email: chenrc@vt.edu

Jerry_Liang.JPG

Jerry Lian

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: jliang97@vt.edu

Ritish_Shailly.jpg

Ritish Shailly

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: rshailly@vt.edu

Michael_Otooni_edited.jpg

Michael Otooni

Undergraduate Student

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Email: micco17@vt.edu

image (1).png

Shengyuan Niu

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: jc26@vt.edu

image1.jpeg

Zihang Zhao

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: zzihang1@vt.edu

IMG_20200211_183554_edited.jpg

Yipin Zhou

Undergraduate Student

Industrial Engineering

Email: yipin15@vt.edu

Fujun_Ruan.jpg

Fujun Ruan

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: jimruan@vt.edu

Tung_Xuan_Le.JPG

Tung Xuan Le

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: tung2250@vt.edu

Anshool_Pradhan.jpeg

Anshool Pradhan

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: anshool@vt.edu

Profile Pic (2).JPG

Sean Eagen

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: esean4@vt.edu

photo_Jiajun Zhang.jpg

Jiajun Zhang

Undergraduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

Email: jiajunz6@vt.edu

Undergraduate Students

 
IMG_20190716_164733_edited.jpg

Neema Ahmadian

K12 Researcher

K-12 Researchers

 

 We are looking for motivated, talented graduate students from all over the world, who wish to undertake Ph.D. research at the cutting edge of control theory and robotics. The desired candidates hold an MS or BS degree in Engineering (preferably ECE, ME, AE), (Applied) Mathematics, Computer science, or related fields. The candidates for these positions should have a strong background in mathematics, programming, and hardware together with hands-on experience. In particular, we are interested in the following skills:

 

  1. Strong mathematical background on control theory and robotics;

  2. Strong programming skills: C/C++, MATLAB/Simulink, Python, ROS, and Microcontrollers; and

  3. Implementing feedback control in hardware (sophisticated legged machines in the lab).

 

If interested in this position, please e-mail Dr. Akbari Hamed with a 1) cover letter and 2) resume/CV as PDF attachments. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Available Positions

Hybrid Dynamic Systems and Robot Locomotion Laboratory

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Virginia Tech

2000px-NSF.svg.png
image.jpg
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.